Cyberpress has new set of Directors for 2015

Cyberpress the premiere technology beat press corps in the Philippines has elected its new set of Directors for the year 2015. The Cyberpress has been around since the 1990’s.

The newly elected officers of the Information and Communications Technology Journalists Association of the Philippines, also known as CyperPress, are set to be inducted on Friday, Dec. 19, in Makati City.

As in the previous years, DOST undersecretary and ICT Office executive director Louis Casambre will administer the induction ceremony. The event will also serve as the Christmas party of the organization.

Here are the new officers and their positions.

Elected officers for the year 2015 are Timothy James Dimacali, science and technology section editor of GMA News Online (President), Alma Anonas-Carpio, technology editor of Philippines Graphic (Vice-President for Externals), Jing Garcia, Infotek section editor of (Vice-President for Internals).

Jason Domantay, segment producer of Asian Food Channel and (Secretary), Verns Joven, digital editor of The Philippine Star (Treasurer).

Also elected are Marlon Magtira, editor of Newsbytes.PH and (Membership Committee Head) and Melvin Calimag, executive editor of Newsbytes.PH (Constitutional Amendments Head).

Appointed as sectoral representatives are Raffy Pedrajita, editor of technology blog (for new media) and Paolo Luis Montecillo of the Philippine Daily Inquirer (for traditional media).

Left: Dimacali. Top right: Carpio, Garcia, Domantacy, Joven. Bottom right: Calimag, Magtira, Monetcillo, Pedrajita. (Photo gang up by Raffy Pedrajita of

In his message to the ICT press corps, Dimacali said, “For close to two decades, Cyberpress has followed the stellar — some would say meteoric — rise of Philippine IT, and continues to do so today even as the organization itself has seen much change over the years.”

“We look forward to 2015 with new goals and new horizons that, we hope, continue closely in step with the shifting tides of the industry we watch after,” Dimacali added.

The IT scribes will also announce the winners of CyberPress Awards to give recognition to ICT industry players who have made their mark in the past year.

The Cyberpress is one of the groups of journalists specializing in Technology News that brings the latest tech news to the Philippine people and the digital world in general.


Ron is a happily married man for more than 10 years, the father of 3 boys. Loves to write about places that he visits. And works in the BPO industry.